OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MINUTES SEPTEMBER 15, 2022 1:30 P.M.

STATEMENT OF OKLAHOMA OPEN MEETING ACT COMPLIANCE

Notice of this Special Business Meeting was filed with the Secretary of State's office on November 23, 2021, at 3:34 p.m. in compliance with the Open Meeting Act.

The agenda was posted at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting, in compliance with the Open Meeting Act. It was posted on the Commission website and at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Commission's principal office.

MINUTES OF THE SEPTEMBER 15, 2022, REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING OF THE OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

The members of the Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Commission met at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., 3rd floor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, on September 15, 2022.

Members present: Chairman Jordan Russell, Commissioner Megan Tilly, and Commissioner Scott Biggs.

Others Present: Andrea Delling, WCC; Tava Jones, WCC; Ian Steedman, WCC; Hopper Smith, WCC; Lauren Hammonds Johnson, WCC; Sharon Smith, WCC.

Chairman Russell expressed appreciation for those in attendance. After the roll was taken, Chairman Russell found a quorum present and called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

1. Discussion and Possible Action to Approve Minutes

The minutes of the August 25, 2022, Regular Meeting and September 8, 2022, Special Meeting of the Commission were considered for approval.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the minutes.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

The motion carried.

2. <u>Discussion and Possible Action of Consent Agenda for Travel Vouchers Currently Outstanding</u>

Title 85A O.S. § 23 states, [a]ny Commissioner or employee of the Commission shall be entitled to receive his or her necessary traveling expenses as provided in the State Travel Reimbursement Act. The expenses shall be certified by the person who incurred them and shall be allowed and paid on presentation of vouchers approved by the Commission." In accordance with this section, the Commission considered a vote to approve vouchers outstanding.

All travel vouchers listed within this Consent Agenda have been made available to each Commissioner prior to today's meeting, are considered routine, and will be enacted by one motion of the Commission. If separate discussion is desired, that item may be removed from the Consent Agenda and voted upon separately.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the travel vouchers.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

The motion carried.

3. Request to Approve the Distribution of Surplus Monies to Members of the Oklahoma Operators Self-Insurers Fund (#75292)

Rule 810:25-11-10 of the Workers' Compensation Commission provides that any distributions of surplus funds back to the members of a group self-insurance association shall be subject to the prior approval of the Commission.

The Oklahoma Operators Self-Insurers Fund ("the Group") requested to make a partial distribution in the amount of \$350,000, which will be payable from Fund Years 2014 (\$70,000), 2015 (\$70,000), 2016 (\$70,000), 2017 (\$70,000), and 2018 (\$20,000). All claims for these fund years are closed.

The Group had a financial surplus of more than \$1,654,622 for all years combined, as indicated in the audited financial statement for the period ending December 31, 2021.

The Group has submitted the audited financial statement for the year ending December 31, 2021, in support of their request.

Sharon Smith was recognized, presented, and answered questions of the Commission.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the distribution.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

The motion carried.

4. <u>Discussion and Possible Action on proposed MITF Assessment Rate – effective July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023 –pursuant to 85A O.S. § 31.</u>

The Multiple Injury Trust Fund (MITF) proposed an assessment rate in the amount of seven percent (7%) should be charged in accordance with 85A O.S. § 31 for the four-quarter period of July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023.

Sharon Smith was recognized, presented, and answered questions of the Commission.

Chairman Russell noted the approved rate is the statutory cap, but the Commission believes this rate is not sufficient.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the 7% rate.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

The motion carried.

5. Proposed Executive Session pursuant to 25 O.S. § 307(B)(1) to discuss and vote on employment, including job duties, titles, and salaries of each Director, and discuss and vote on the hiring or process of hiring an Executive Director.

A. Motion and vote to enter into Executive Session.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to enter into executive session

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

- B. **Discussion in Executive Session**. The Commission discussed only the topic stated in this agenda item.
- C. Motion and vote to reconvene in Open Session.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to reconvene in open session

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

D. Motion and vote on any action regarding subjects of the proposed Executive Session.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved that the Commission appoint Lauren Hammonds Johnson as the Executive Director, Ian Steedman as Director of Commission Operations, and to increase the salaries of Lauren Hammonds Johnson, Ian Steedman, Collin Fowler, Andrea Delling, and Tava Jones as discussed in executive session, effective October 1, 2022, with title changes to be effective September 19, 2022.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

6. New Business

"[A]ny matter not known about or which could not have been reasonably foreseen prior to the time of the posting." 25 O.S. § 311.

There was no new business.

ADJOURNMENT......Chairman Jordan Russell

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to adjourn.

Second: Commissioner Biggs

Those voting aye: Chairman Russell, Commissioner Tilly, and Commissioner Biggs.

The motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 2:14 p.m.